
 

  March 2025  

      

When is an ace not an ace ??? 
   We have a lot of aces – holes-in-one – at Fairgrounds, more than a lot of courses. 
One reason is that we have seven par-3 holes to go along with two par-4 holes. 

    There are varying opinions on what constitutes a “real” hole-in-one, but having 
checked with the NCGA and even the USGA, there are many different interpretations. 

   Some of the disqualifying reasons are: After a mulligan; after a penalty shot; multiple 
attempts on the same hole; a temporary green; using a golf simulator; while playing in 
a scramble; when somebody else knocks your ball in the hole; when you sign an 
incorrect scorecard; when you’re not keeping score, and a few others. Playing on a 
miniature golf course is probably an obvious addition. 

  One additional reason expressed is when you’re playing on a par-3 or 9-hole layout. 
Some people have the opinion “it just doesn’t feel right,” although most golfers figure if 
you knock you tee shot in the cup, it’s a hole-in-one . . . regardless. 

    

 



 

 
 
   Par-3 courses – we are not in that category -- are interesting, because there are 
par-3 courses with holes of varying distances, and then there are pitch-and putt 
layouts. For example, our course features holes of 75 yards from the short tees to one 
that’s 180 yards. Most pitch-and-putt courses have holes as short as 30 or 40 yards. 
 
   A regulation golf course usually consists of 18 holes of varied length. There are 
generally four short holes, 130 to 200 yards (par 3); 10 average holes 350 to 400 yards 
(par 4); and four long holes 450 to 550 yards (par 5). 
 
   The Rules of Golf do not actually define a hole-in-one, and there seems to be no 
position on whether a player who holes their first shot has an “official” hole-in-one.  
 
    While certain organizations or competitions might make their own regulations in this 
regard, there is apparently no such thing as an “official” hole-in-one.​
 ​
   Generally speaking, it’s up to the player to decide how to count aces made from 
temporary tees, on temporary greens, on par-3 courses, without witnesses, playing 
only 9 holes vs. 18 holes, quitting after the hole where you made the hole-in-one, etc. 
 
   So it’s pretty much up to the individual golfer. But if you get one here, let us know! 
 

 


